Destiny – The Collection

By on on Reviews, 3 More

Destiny – The Collection Review

I remember with great fondness the anticipation I had when Destiny released back a bit over 2 years ago. I’d pre-ordered and pre-downloaded it and sat there at midnight waiting for the game to unlock to experience this world that Bungie and Activision had put together. Two years on and that vision is fully realised with Destiny – The Collection.

Destiny – The Collection brings together every piece of content made for Destiny. You’ll get the base game along with Expansion 1: The Dark Below, Expansion 2: House of Wolves, The Taken King and the brand new content, Rise of Iron. To go with the expansions to the Destiny Universe players also get a Level 40 Character Boost and for those who pre-ordered, the Iron Gjallarhorn Rocket Launcher.

I had Destiny on Xbox One and but did the review of Destiny – The Collection on PS4. It was a great way to get the full experience of what it would be like for someone new to the Destiny experience, which is what the collection is all about. If you already have Destiny and love it then you’ll have the content packs and will just need to buy the Rise of Iron DLC. For anyone new though, this is the best way to get the full Destiny experience.


The Level 40 Character boost is essential for new players. Just as it says, this boost once used, immediately ups the player’s character to Level 40 and provides a bunch of gear that is appropriate for a level 40 player. You don’t have to use the boost and could grind your way up to level 40 but taking the boost is the best way to ensure you can play all of the content right from the word go. You don’t need an Xbox Live or PlayStation Plus subscription to play through the story modes but if you want the full online experience and want to participate in Strikes and Raids then you will need Xbox Live Gold or PlayStation Plus.

I have previously reviewed Destiny and The Taken King so rather than reinvent the wheel, I’ll focus more on the new Rise of Iron content but feel free to go back and read those reviews if you need to catch up.

The other piece of free DLC that is available, mainly for those who pre-ordered is the Iron Gjallarhorn Rocket Launcher. There has been some confusion around this weapon so I’ll clear that up right off the bat. The weapon will appear in you Heavy Weapon list but you’ll see it is locked. To unlock the weapon you’ll need to complete Patrols and Quests from the Rise of Iron content. Upon final completion of the quests you will be granted an Gjallarhorn which then can have the Iron Gjallarhorn put over the top of it to create a super powerful Rocket Launcher. Moral of the story here, is don’t panic if you see the weapon locked, complete quests and it shall be your greatest reward (outside of saving the universe of course).

Well I’ve waffled on enough about a few things when of course you all want to know about is Rise of Iron so let’s get stuck into it…

Rise of Iron tells the story of the Iron Lords. Back in the day there was some serious technology around called SIVA, which were capable of self-replicating and terraforming. The Iron Lords thought they had SIVA covered thanks to the mysterious traveller appearing but they were wrong. During an epic battle, the Iron Lords were all but wiped out. Lord Saladin is one of the last remaining Iron Lords and he needs the assistance of the Guardians because SIVA is back with a vengeance. Your task, should you choose to accept it is to do what the Iron Lords couldn’t and take down SIVA once and for all.

Apart from that open cinematic to set up Rise of Iron’s content, most of the story is told over your comms system as you travel around. It is an interesting story to unravel but it doesn’t live up to the brilliant story that was The Taken King. The story itself is shorter than I would have liked, taking only around an hour and a half to plough through. It is interesting to learn the backstory on things like the Felwinter’s Lie shotgun, who Felwinter was and how he died but that whole story still feels like we aren’t told the full story which is a shame.

Where Rise of Iron shines is in the content outside of the story, the Strike’s and Raid’s. There is some repetition in there with the likes of Sepiks Prime and others returning in an infected SIVA form which makes more like a retelling of what we already know rather than adding brand new content but it somehow works, which is validation of how fun strikes and raids are.


The brand new raid will require 6 Guardians and like with previous raids, requires communication throughout in order to achieve success. In the raid you won’t be overly prompted with what to go, rather the team must figure it all out. The elements of planning, solving the problem and then executing the plan is a highlight and is greatly satisfying when it all comes together.

To compete in raids you’ll need to be level 40 (so use that character boost) AND have light above 350. Achieving that light level will require a bit of grinding to find new gear but with a wealth of content to play through across all of the expansions there is plenty to do in order to make that progression.

Rise of Iron on its own may not quite live up to expectation, admittedly being a little underwhelming but Destiny – The Collection succeeds by way of the some of its parts. When I first reviewed Destiny it was good but the grind got to me. It just felt like it was begging for more content. As Bungie added each piece of content the game started to realise it’s potential with The Taken King really making the game shine. Rise of Iron may not be Destiny’s finest moment but when complimented by all the content that proceeded it, Destiny finally feels like it has reached its full potential and is well set up now for Destiny 2.

The Good

  • All content included
  • Level 40 Character Boost
  • Destiny's potential has been reached

The Bad

  • Rise of Iron is Underwhelming on its own

Written by: Ben Carmichael

Love Gaming and am a self-confessed Tech Geek. I created the site so I'm the guy you can either thank or abuse, either way I'm just happy to have some human interaction!

1 Comment Added

Join Discussion
  1. Bruce 1 year ago | Reply
    I just bought the collection for PlayStation 4. Are you saying I don't have to be online to play the whole collection? I bought it because I don't usually like to play online

Leave Your Reply

About Us:

ThoseGamers is based in Auckland New Zealand with the goal to become one the best Gaming Websites on the net. We bring you latest and greatest news in the world of gaming. Looking reviews, features and previews? We've got you covered!



Follow us: Twitter  facebook  YouTube